Interview with Mike Hartner, author of ‘I, Mary’

Mike HartnerMike Hartner was born in Miami in 1965. He’s traveled much of the continental United States. He has several years post secondary education, and experience teaching and tutoring young adults. Hartner has owned and run a computer firm for more than twenty-five years. He now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and child. They share the neighborhood and their son with his maternal grandparents.

His latest book is the historical romance, I, Mary.

For More Information

About the Book:

I, MaryMary Crofter’s first trip on the water was just after her first birthday, when her parents came from her birthplace in Kilwa to Portsmouth. She’s been on several trips from Portsmouth to London and other places since. She loves the water and the water seems to love her. Can she survive on the water? Will people ever take seriously a GIRL as a sailor? Will she ever come off the water? If she does, will the lure of the ocean draw her back?

For More Information

Q: Thank you for this interview. Can you tell us a little bit about your writing background?

My latest book, I, Mary is the third book in The Eternity Series. This is a series about individual stories and how they connect in this huge world of ours. Think of it as a modern retelling of Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales with a global perspective and a time frame that began in 1588 with Walter Crofter’s birth in I, Walter and will continue through until it reaches at least present day.

Q: What fact about yourself would really surprise people?

Perhaps that I am a retired geek. I’ve worked with every stage of networking, and maintaining, computers for close to thirty years.

Q: What scares you the most?

When my wife or son are in danger or sick.

Q: What makes you happiest?

I’m happiest when I’m watching and observing the good person that my son is becoming. I’m even more certain he gets it from his mom.

Q: What are you most proud of in your personal life?

Being a father and husband.

Q: What is hardest – getting published, writing or marketing?

Marketing… in this day and age, marketing.

Q: Every writer has their own idea of what a successful career in writing is, what does success in writing look like to you? 

Paying the bills associated with writing, and having readers who enjoy reading the books.

Q: Tell us about your new book? What’s it about and why did you write it?

I, Mary came out in July 2015. It is the third in a series of books called The Eternity Series. I, Mary is the final book in the Crofter Family trilogy, and to my knowledge, is the only family trilogy in the series. It is the story of Mary Crofter.

Q: When you are not writing, how do you relax?

Writing more; relaxing my wife; cheerleading my son.

Q: Please tell us why we should read your book?

I believe that my books are making a statement. Not just about characters, but about people and attitudes. I think it’s important to never judge a book by its cover. And I think that statement is evident in the strength of some of the characters in my books.

Q: What kind of advice would you give other authors just getting their feet wet?

As a friend, Rachel Thompson, would say: “Write what scares you,” and “You don’t need anyone’s permission but your own.” I would add, “Write what you know best.”

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment