When Dreams Become Reality by Darlene Mahon and Peggy Vasquez

We have two special guests today! Darlene Mahon and Peggy Vasquez, co-authors of Judi Moreo’s motivational self-help anthology, Life Choices: Putting the Pieces Together (Turning Point International) are here to talk about when dreams become reality.

Divider 5

Darlene: “I’ve been telling stories since the time I could speak!  Just ask my parents!  My sister and I would make up stories and tell them to our cousins.  We would dream of becoming talk show hosts so we could tell the world our stories and hear others’ stories as well.  The dream of becoming an author was always there waiting for a door to open.”

Peggy: “Every since I can remember I wanted to be an author.  While growing up one of my favorite things was “playing school” with my friends and sisters.  Of course I was always the teacher.  I loved leading the class through activities and assignments.  My other favorite activity was writing.  My friend and I would write stories and imagine we were published authors.  I loved writing so much that I kept a journal all through junior high and high school.  I need to get the trunk out of my mother’s garage and dust off those old journals . . . who knows, maybe that will be the catalyst for my next book.”

Darlene & Peggy: “You may call it daydreaming…I call it making plans.”  Peggy Vasquez gave Darlene Mahon a magnet with that phrase on it and it is a perfect vision statement for their partnership.  Ten years ago they became co-workers and office mates and soon discovered they had much in common, including aspirations to become trainers, speakers and authors.  Big dreams for administrative assistants.

Ultimately, their shared passion for teaching, speaking and writing led them to this exact point in their lives.  This year their life-long dreams were realized! They experienced their first speaking engagement and first book signing.  They spoke at the national Administrative Professionals Conference to 100 people.  The session was titled, “Taking the Mystery and Misery out of Partnering with your Manager.”  Their excitement grew as they entered the room to embrace the opportunity they had envisioned for so long.  They examined the room and checked the equipment.  They laid out their notes and tested their microphones.  As they were preparing, the staff began placing more chairs in the room.  There was more interest in the class and they needed to fill the room with chairs!  The sign near the door read “maximum capacity 89” however the room was set for 110!  As they enthusiastically greeted attendees they calmed their nerves by focusing on the attendees instead of themselves.  They set their sights on delivering the material to a hungry audience.  The class began and after 90 minutes concluded.  Everything went so well it seemed as if it were a dream, almost surreal.  The attendee’s response was overwhelming and many approached Peggy and Darlene afterward thanking them for valuable information and asking them to stay in touch by sharing their business cards.

Immediately following the session they experienced their first book signing.  The adrenaline was flowing.  As they walked out of the conference, they paused to pinch themselves just in case!  Yep, they were awake and embracing the moment when dreams become reality.

Peggy Vasquez has been an executive assistant for top executives for more than a decade.  In addition to providing daily support to C-level executives, she is called upon to provide leadership and training. Peggy has led executive assistant teams and together they have designed and implemented many successful programs for administrative staff, including: Award of Administrative Excellence, Annual Office Professionals Seminar, Administrative New Hire Training, Quarterly Administrative Development Forums, National Award Recognition, Personality Profile Training, and a Mentoring Program. Peggy’s belief in the value of the administrative professional inspires her to share her passion, knowledge, and techniques to empower others to succeed.

Peggy Vasquez may be contacted at:

www.ActingOnBehalfOf.com

ActingonBehalfof@hotmail.com

Join me on Facebook

Connect with me on Linkedin

Follow me on my blog: http://peggyvasquez.blogspot.com/

Darlene Mahon has worked as an administrative assistant for over 25 years.  She has embraced opportunities to provide training to other administrative staff over the years and is currently scheduled to train at two national administrative conferences in the fall of 2010.  She actively participates in community theatre, has performed in local commercials and corporate training videos.  Darlene’s compassionate, empathetic presence resonates with audiences everywhere.

Darlene Mahon may be contacted at:

www.ActingOnBehalfOf.com

ActingonBehalfof@hotmail.com

Join me on Facebook

Connect with me on Linkedin

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Bloggers

One response to “When Dreams Become Reality by Darlene Mahon and Peggy Vasquez

  1. As a contirbuting author, I want to wish you the best of luck! It is a pleasure to be working with you on the Life Choices project.

Leave a comment