Character Profile Sheet for Detective Katherine “Katie” Scott from Jennifer Chase’s ‘Perfect Broken Dolls’

Years ago (and still applies today), the experts were telling fiction writers that in order to really know their main character, they must come up with a character profile sheet for them and definitely applies to all your characters as well.  This is a good practice because once you know all the ins and outs of all your characters, the book flows better and allows the author to get inside the head of each of their characters.

We decided to ask authors if they would like to come up with a character sketch of their main character, throwing in a few unique questions to make it really fun!

Today we have Jennifer Chase stopping by on her blog tour with a character sketch of her main character, Detective Katherine “Katie” Scott.  Enjoy!

———————————————————–

Learn more about Detective Katherine “Katie” Scott!

Name of Character: Detective Katherine “Katie” Scott

Age: 28

Eye Color: Brown

Hair Color: Brown

Birthplace: Pine Valley, California

Marital Status: engaged

Children: 0

Place of Residence: Pine Valley, California

Description of Home: Inherited her parent’s farm house and property.

Dominant Character Trait: determination and dedication

Best Friend: K9 Cisco

Enemies and Why: Any bad guys or killers that try to get away with murder.

Temperament: focused and ready

Ambition: to become an FBI profiler

Educational Background: college for administration of justice and criminology

Philosophy of Life: Never forget to tell the ones you love—that you love them—now than later.

Bad Habits: never backing down

Talents: sharpshooting and dog training

Hobby or Hobbies: running and reading

Why is Character Likeable? Detective Katie Scott is loyal, humble and intelligent woman, once she’s your friend—she is your friend for life.

Favorite Pig Out Food: pizza and French fries

Character Mini-Interview:

Every New Year’s I resolve to: Relax more and enjoy life—especially away from killers.

Nobody knows I am: Afraid of losing the ones I love.

I wish: My parents were alive.

The worse part of my life is: I feel alone and suffer from PTSD.

I want to teach my children that: No matter what happens there are always good things and good people in your life.

A good time for me is: Late in the evening when everyone is sleeping, I sit outside on the porch swing, so I can recharge in the quiet time.

The worse advice my father gave me is: He never gave me any bad advice. He was a great father and I miss in dearly.

When I feel sorry for myself I: Have a tendency to retreat from people until I work through any problem I’m having.

My friends like me because: I and loyal and dependable.

My major accomplishment is: Being able to work a job where I’m making a difference.

My most humbling experience was: Being a military K9 handler on the battlefield and seeing how precious life really is.

———————————————————–

Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and USA Today BestSelling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor’s degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells. In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling.  She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers. You can visit her website at www.authorjenniferchase.com or connect with her on TwitterGoodreads and Facebook.

———————————————————–

In the thin light of the moon, the woman’s limp body hangs from the iron fence amongst the redwoods. Looped over the railings is the little gold locket her mother gave her when she turned sixteen. The picture of the girl inside smiles out at a future she’ll never see…

As day breaks over the fairground, Detective Katie Scott forces herself to take in another disturbing scene in front of her. A woman, the same age as her, found slumped in the carriage of the Ferris wheel, red lipstick dragged across her lips, her throat cut.

Katie doesn’t want to believe that the serial killer picking off women across the state has found their way to the small town of Pine Valley, California, but when her team finds a gold engagement ring hanging nearby, it’s a terrifying, but undeniable fact.

With a twisted killer on her doorstep, Katie knows if she doesn’t act fast, she’ll find more women left out in the cold like broken dolls. Her team hit dead end after dead end, but only she can see the vital link between the victims: a connection with Katie herself.

Katie has spent years pushing traumatic memories of her years in the military far out of reach, but she must confront them now or more innocent women will die. But as the killer circles closer and closer to Katie, what if the only answer is to give him what he wants? There must be another way…

Warning – This absolutely unputdownable thriller will keep you up all night! Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh better hold on tight for a nail-biting rollercoaster ride!

PRAISE

5 Stars! “This is the first book in the series I have read – and I want more! Suspense up to the end, characters I enjoyed, and K9 units. Loved it!” – NetGalley

5 Stars! “As always this Jennifer Chase thriller just cries out to be read in one sitting. Here we see Katie get tangled up with a serial killer although it takes time before anyone takes her seriously. Great characters and a great story, I loved this book.” – NetGalley

ORDER YOUR COPY

Amazon → https://amzn.to/3xDXuU9

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s