The Story behind ‘Freddy, Hoppie and the Eyeglasses,’ by Michelle Nott

The Story Behind the Book

The backstory of this book started with a conversation years ago with my mother-in-law. She told me how my husband’s eye sight problems stem from when he was a child. The issue could have been corrected when he was young, but it went unnoticed. Fearing the same result in her grandchildren, she encouraged me to check my daughters’ eyesight at a very young age. Sure enough, one of them was prescribed eyeglasses to correct her vision and a potential “lazy eye.”

As my youngest daughter was wearing eyeglasses, I started noticing just how many children were also wearing them. I thought that a story about a child needing glasses would help other children to understand the importance of taking care of their eyes and actually wearing their glasses. When I was first prescribed glasses in fourth grade, I often took them off as soon as I got to school because…

View original post 433 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

