A Chat with Tara Edin, author of ‘Moonflower: A Memoir of Healing’

Moonflower 2Tara is an incest, rape and sexual assault survivor, a teacher, a wife, a mother, a Reiki master, and an author.

As a rape and sexual assault survivor, who struggled for many years, yet came out on the bright side, one of Tara’s goals is to help fellow survivors feel less alone, less crazy, and more inspired.

Tara spent much of her life feeling “wrong” and being quiet due to some very tough circumstances that shook her to the core. After a spiritual awakening on one of her darkest nights, Tara began to embrace her own power to transform past trials into dreams come true.

Writing her story has helped Tara retrieve her voice and find additional creative outlets. Publishing her book has simply made her story available to those who may benefit from it.

These days, Tara puts most of her energy into raising her two children, enhancing her creative life, and living her best life ever. But because she is a Survivor, Tara will always walk a healing path—healing for herself and for others.

For More Information

Moonflower covers such difficult topics such as emotional and sexual abuse.  Was it written from personal experience?

Yes, all of the past monsters I battled are rolled into my book, but my healing journey and warrior spirit are the highlights.

Why did you feel you had to write your story?

I had begun writing my story at age 17 after struggling with the emotions of being raped by an ex-boyfriend. At the time, writing was more of a cathartic vehicle for me than something to share with others. As time passed (the next 20 years), and I experienced various challenges and victories related to the abuse I had endured, it became clearer to me that writing my story may contribute to my own healing and help others as well.

What or who would you say had the biggest influence on you to write your book?

Tori Amos has been a major influence in my healing path and my writing. I first came upon her music when I was 20. Songs like “Silent All These Years, Tear in Your Hand, and Little Earthquakes” reached into my soul and stirred it in such a way that I truly felt comfort. Her songs were so complex and vulnerable and powerful. I also admired how she bravely crafted her songs on her own terms, and I desired to someday touch others with my own brand of writing.

They say every book has a pivotal point where they just can’t put the book down.  Can you tell us one of yours?

Without giving away a crucial piece of the story, I will simply say that on my darkest night, my spirit began to bloom. That is where the title of my book Moonflower originates from, since it is a flower which only blooms at night. It was literally a moment where I teetered between life and death.

What kind of advice would you give to others trying to heal from the same experiences you went through?

Be kind to yourself first. Many survivors or healers at heart have a natural tendency to put others first because they have been doing it most of their lives. First learn to love and take care of yourself, especially the part(s) of yourself that were hurt. Healing will look different for each person, so it does take some investigation and trial and error on your part. On the hard days, give yourself permission to feel or do whatever you need to do to get through. That is a start.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

