Special Guest: The Call That Had To Be Made by Cary Smith

44The Call That Had To Be Made

By Cary Smith, author of Four Corners, Or a Book That Will Tickle Your Intellectual Nipple

I struggled and struggled to find any interest in my work and to make that first sale. I think the title drew people away, “…Tickle Your Intellectual Nipple,” doesn’t seem to sit Four Cornerswell with people in this day and age. Then I thought, “My writing is probably not that good.” Then I went to the next thought, which was, “Why did I write a book? Why didn’t I just write a TV show or a movie?” Then I went to the final struggling thought that, “Maybe I’m insane. Maybe the idea makes sense in my head, and makes sense as I write and re-read it myself, but to anyone else, it makes no sense, because I’m insane.” Then I struggled even more with why there was no interest, why there were no sales. I turned to Facebook, but all that got me were some thumbs up and likes on a screen…no actual sales. I had a radio interview with a guy who kept saying, “You’re listening to the world famous so and so,” every two minutes, and his only question was, “Describe your book some more,” so I knew it wasn’t going to go well and no sales would follow.

So I struggled and struggled for my first sale, until I finally made a call that had to be made. It was a call that was completely necessary. I needed to make that first sale. I called my mom and told her I had written a book and I was going to publish it…and most importantly, I left out the fact that I had not made a single sale. Thirty minutes later after the call to my mom I had made my first sale.

About the Author

Cary SmithCary Smith, the nom de plume of Greg Hawkins, lives in San Jose, CA. He became interested in books and writing because of a teacher. His favorite book is “Hocus Pocus,” by Kurt Vonnegut or “100 Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. He is currently either going to finish his collection of short stories next or turn one of his short stories into a novel, which would be a new take on the ghost genre.

His latest book is Four Corners, Or a Book That Will Tickle Your Intellectual Nipple.

Visit him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/tickleintellectual.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Bloggers

Leave a Reply

