Interview with Doe Running Deer, author of ‘My Past Decisions Have Made Me Who I Am Today’

Doe Book Tour

My Past Decisions Book CoverABOUT MY PAST DECISIONS HAVE MADE ME WHO I AM TODAY

For author Doe Running Deer, life has been a series of tragedy and healing. In My Past Decisions Have Made Me Who I Am Today, she narrates the stories of her trials and tribulations, sharing how faith helped her get through the difficult periods.

Using personal anecdotes to illustrate how God has worked in her life, she explores the doubts, fears, and perplexities she experienced and describes how she found comfort and guidance in the Bible and through prayer. In this memoir, she recalls growing up as the oldest of four in a small Texas town against the backdrop of her parents’ alcoholism and marital issues; being molested by a cousin at an early age; being introduced to Jesus Christ in her teenage years; marrying an alcoholic; and enduring his subsequent suicide.

With scriptural examples to highlight key points, My Past Decisions Have Made Me Who I am Today serves to communicate the message that there is healing and that God is listening and is rescuing his people from their hurts and pains.

Purchase your copy:

iuniverse

Thank you for this interview, Doe. Can you tell us what your latest book, My Past Decisions Have Made Me Who I Am Today, is all about?

First of all the book is a memoir. The book includes my childhood and three marriages. My childhood was stressful. I grew in the rural area of small town in east Texas. I grew up being the oldest of four children. My dad was a functioning alcoholic; he drank on week-ends, worked during the week. There were marital issues between my parents. I was developed by my mother to take care of her. She didn’t realize she was teaching me to become an enabler. I was molested by a cousin at an early age. My grandfather introduced me to Jesus Christ in my teenage years; I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I left home after graduation from high school. I moved to a neighboring city, stay there for two years. I left the state of Texas at twenty years old, moved to the North West, Oregon and Washington State, I had relatives there. I wanted to experience more in life than my environment was allowing me to do. I married an alcoholic at the age of twenty-two from that marriage two daughters were born. After eight and a half years of marriage my husband committed suicide. I was a widow at thirty years old. He had psychological problems, and after his death I found out he practiced witch craft. I endured a lot of hurt and pain in that marriage. I married again to a drug addict, a supposedly recovering addict. I brought my problems into this marriage without being healed from the first one. I have now double troubles. We were divorced after nine and a half years of marriage, he wanted what I possessed. I was not bound to that marriage based on biblical principles. I marry again after six years to another alcoholic, supposedly recovering. I am showing a pattern in my life, I am not healing fast enough to get a grip on my life. I am seeking for something I am not finding yet. The third husband had a life threatening problem, and he didn’t tell me about it before we were married, that problem of his could have effect my life unto death. I almost had a nervous break-down again from all the traumas that is adding up in my life. I am being shaped by my decisions. I was rescued by Jesus Christ. I am sharing my testimony hoping it will help others.

How did you come up with the idea?

The idea of the book stemmed from being tired of being sick and tired. I needed help, because I wanted to live, and have life more abundantly. The idea started over twenty years ago, I was encouraged to write my hurts and pain on paper for healing, and it has taken until 2012 to finish the book. After my first husband died, I was depressed, mental and emotionally sick. Each year I tried to finish the book I could only write a little at a time each year. My wounds of life decisions were still raw, open and bleeding. The wounds couldn’t heal because I kept making decisions that were hurting me.

What kind of research did you do before and during the writing of your book?

In writing a little each year, I gather all the writings of twenty years, put it all together. I asked God to bring up memories that was not at the fore-front of my mind, but was affecting my life unaware.

If a reader can come away from reading your book with one valuable message, what would that be?

The message I want the reader to receive is that God’s word will build your self-esteem, and give you confidence in who you are in him. With God’s help all things are possible. To the readers that have not accepted God in their lives, my desire is that you do, because of the benefits of having a savior. We are all created by God, but only through accepting Jesus in your life are we a child of God. I am hoping that the reader will learn to teach people how to treat them, not let them treat you how they want to treat you. Set boundaries. Believe what God’s says about you, not what others says about you. We as people have fears, pains, hurts and traumas, we can’t correct the problem with will power, it doesn’t work very long. We need Super Power help – God’s help.

Can you give us a short excerpt?

Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.

In your own experience, is it hard to get a nonfiction book published today? How did you do it?

It was not hard for me. I submitted the memoir; it was accepted based on what I wrote.

What’s a typical day like for you?

Each day when I wake up I greet God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. I thank them for a brand new day. I am excited with expectations of the day. I pray for myself, family, friends, and my church family. I tune in to the religious channel on TV, I have favorites. I exercise, and I study my Sunday school lesson.

What’s next for you?

I am thinking about writing another book, I am a willing vessel, what God’s has for me to do next, I am willing.

Thank you so much for this interview, Doe. We wish you much success!

ABOUT DOE RUNNING DEER

Doe Running Deer is retired and lives in Texas, where she was born and raised, after having lived in a variety of places throughout the United States. Running Deer is currently married and has two daughters and two grandsons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

