A Conversation with Kraig Dafoe, author of ‘Search for the Lost Realm’

 

Kraig DefoeKraig Dafoe was born in Potsdam, New York and grew up in Canton. He played high school football and joined the United States Army Reserves at the age of seventeen.

Kraig married at the age of nineteen and moved to Virginia Beach, Virginia where he worked as a Private Security officer for The Christian Broadcasting Network and also attended the Tidewater Community College for business.

After five years as a security officer, he became a Deputy Sheriff for the city of Chesapeake Virginia.

Kraig left the Sheriff’s office after nine years of service and pursued a couple of different business opportunities before he went on to publishing his debut novel.

Kraig is the father of five children and he currently resides in Kansas, raising his youngest son.

His latest book is the fantasy/adventure, Search for the Lost Realm.

Visit his website at www.kraigdafoebooks.com

Search for the Lost RealmQ: Thank you for this interview, Kraig. Can you tell us what your latest book, Search for the Lost Realm, is all about?

Search for the Lost Realm is about a young man trying to gain his father’s affection. Varan sets out to find a mystical power gone missing for thousands of years and soon realizes his mission is to save the world’s creator from a spiritual bond placed upon him by a powerful demon.

Q:  Can you tell us a little about your main and supporting characters?

Varan is a young man in his twenties. The man is a Scathrin, which are red skinned humans and the race is likened to pirates. Varan is a good kid who wants fame and fortune and wonders of the beaten path trying to get it. The supporting characters in this novel are unique in race and the development of these characters evolves allowing every reader the opportunity to connect with at least one of them.

Q: Do you tend to base your characters on real people or are they totally from your imagination?

I believe the characters could resemble real people to a degree but they are not based on anyone I know.

Q: Are you consciously aware of the plot before you begin a novel, or do you discover it as you write?

I start with a basic concept or character and create the story as I go. This keeps it fresh and exciting for me which helps motivate me to write.

Q: Your book is set on the world of Kantania.  Can you tell us why you chose to write using a fictional world?

I didn’t want the limitations that come with writing about Earth. I didn’t want the reader to question authenticity, instead I want them to get lost in a fantastic world where anything can happen.

Q: Does the setting play a major part in the development of your story?

I think the setting certainly plays a part, but I’m not sure how major it is.

Q: Open the book to page 69.  What is happening?

The main character is having his first conversation with an “angel” that appears to guide him on his quest. I quote the word angel because I don’t want people to think this book is highly religious, it just has certain undertones.

Q: Can you give us one of your best excerpts?

This novel has almost 180,000 words. For me to choose my best excerpt would be near impossible. The following is a good one I guess.

Varan awoke to the sound of thunder. Morning had come too soon for the young man as he rolled over to see his roommate was not there. The Scathrin wormed his way off the bed and went to the shutters. Throwing them opened, the young man was awash with the rain as the wind howled through his chamber. The dark skies were unleashing a torrent of precipitation, dashing any chance of a positive spirit within the man’s soul.

Q: Have you suffered from writer’s block and what do you do to get back on track?

I do suffer from time to time. It usually takes me a couple of days thinking about different scenarios in my head to find one I like. The other thing I do is work on a current affairs project I’ve been toying with for a change of pace. I find when I concentrate on something else my brain will eventually lead me back on track.

Q: What would you do with an extra hour today if you could do anything you wanted?

If I ever get an extra hour, I sleep. Between raising my son, helping with homework, feeding him dinner, and doing chores around the house I don’t really sleep well at night.

Q: Which already published book do you wish that you had written and why?

Don Quixote for it was the best-selling book of all time after the bible.

Q: What kind of advice would you give other fiction authors regarding getting their books out there?

The only advice I can give is never give up and plan for rejection. If you plan properly, the motivation can stay strong and eventually you will succeed.

Q: Thank you so much for this interview, Kraig.  We wish you much success!

Thank you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

