Interview with Joanne Elder: ‘Plasma life could well exist…’

Joanne Elder is a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario. She received her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Engineering Science at the University of Western Ontario. During her professional career, she spent several years in the aeronautical and nuclear industries, published numerous technical papers in the field of Metallurgical Engineering and presented at international conferences. She now resides in King City, Ontario with her two teen-aged children and husband. Spectra, Elder’s debut novel, and the sequel, Entity, were published by MuseItUp Publishing.

You can visit Joanne Elder’s website at www.sciencefictionthrillers.com.

Joanne Elder is a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario. She received her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Engineering Science at the University of Western Ontario. During her professional career, she spent several years in the aeronautical and nuclear industries, published numerous technical papers in the field of Metallurgical Engineering and presented at international conferences. She now resides in King City, Ontario with her two teen-aged children and husband. Spectra, Elder’s debut novel, was published by MuseItUp Publishing. Visit Joanne at http://www.sciencefictionthrillers.com, http://www.facebook.com/Spectra.Series or on Twitter @JoanneElder.

Q: Thank you for this interview, Joanne. Can you tell us what your latest book, Spectra, is all about?

In Spectra, murder and betrayal consume one man’s life as he struggles to stop the genocide of newly discovered energy-based life forms so unique they cause humans to acquire extraordinary intelligence for a brief period following exposure. As genius edges toward insanity for those exploiting the peaceful entities, a ruthless experiment goes awry leading to the creation of an evil capable of redefining human existence.

Spectra would appeal to those who enjoy science fiction or thrillers.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

Spectra is my debut novel; however, the sequel Entity was just released. When Spectra was contracted, the release date was set one year away so I immediately started writing Entity. With the research already done from Spectra, writing the sequel was a much faster process. MuseItUp contracted it very quickly following submission.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

A subplot in Spectra narrows in on the human soul and what it is. Scientifically speaking, if it exists, it has to be something. So does God for that matter. I carried out a great deal of research into the human energy field. In particular, a study done at UCLA where it was actually measured, thus proving that we have an “aura.” I also researched plasma theory to model the energy-based life forms in Spectra as plasma life, which, interestingly, could well exist. The challenge was to take this research and convey it in a completely non-technical manner so it would be merely entertaining and thought provoking for the reader. Spectra is fiction, but real science does support the existence of energy-based life as portrayed in the book.

Writer’s block was not really a problem with Spectra and any brief moments of it were quickly cured by taking my dog for a long walk.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

I submitted Spectra to RT Book Reviews Magazine for review. It earned their rating of TOP PICK, which they award to few books, and it generated a tremendous number of sales for the month it appeared in the magazine.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

I’m extremely disciplined. I like to write first thing in the morning as I find I’m more imaginative when I’m fresh. If my creativity becomes stale, exercise usually perks it up.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

Breaks are a key part in keeping the words flowing smoothly. It’s nice to fill your breaks up with needed errands, or on occasion, lunch with a friend. Too much time in front of the computer tires your eyes. I like to save my eyes for a little quality reading time in the evening.

Q: What book changed your life?

I would have to say Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery. Lucy Maud was my grandfather’s cousin. They used to spend summers together at the Macneill farm in P.E.I. when they were kids. My father used to talk about her all the time and her novels were some of the first I picked up as a kid. She was an incredible person who wrote herself to fame in an era when woman’s accomplishments were rarely recognized. She is a true inspiration to any writer.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 From Engineer, To Mother, To Author…A Writer’s Journey

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

That I’m very passionate about my writing. When I’m working on a book, I become fully engaged with the story and tend to talk about it too much. With Spectra, I managed to completely ruin the reading experience for my family by leaking out most of the plot as I wrote it. Amazingly, when writing the sequel, Entity, I managed to keep my lips sealed and everyone was able to enjoy reading it.

Thank you for this interview Joanne.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Spectra!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews

One response to “Interview with Joanne Elder: ‘Plasma life could well exist…’

  1. Thanks so much for the interview!
    Joanne Elder

Leave a Reply

