As the Pages Turn Interviews Kelly Preston author of Real Dogs Don’t Whisper

Real Dogs Don’t Whisper Book Tour

Q: Thank you for this interview, Kelly. Can you tell us what your latest book, Real Dogs Don’t Whisper: Life Lessons From A Larger than Life Dog (and his owner!), is all about?

Real Dogs Don’t Whisper (www.realdogsdontwhisper.com) is about four rescue dogs that entered my life and each having special needs.  I also have a co-author, Mr MaGoo; he is my Lhasa Apso that was a rescue from a puppy mill.  Both he and I take the reader on a journey of discovery, growth, exploration that we experienced over the course of ten (10) years with Betty Boop, Buffy, and Carla Mae.  Together we hope to raise awareness about second chances for those with special needs and try to inspire readers to live in the moment, open your heart; and, what unconditional love truly means.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

Yes, this is my first novel; and, I have to say it has been such a rewarding experience.  I have learned so much about the process, the art of writing, touching and inspiring others; this truly has been a priceless effort, I happy to say this will not be my last.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 At first it wasn’t difficult since I was writing based on experience; however, that quickly changed, I did indeed run into a block.  I simply took a break, walked away from the project for about a week.  It is amazing how a short little break can be refreshing and productive.

Kelly Preston and her dogs

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

I believe my fans are more of Mr MaGoo’s fans.  Our fans have been very supportive, encouraging us to write another book; and the stories they share how we have touched and inspired their lives has been endearing.  We had a woman that was going through a divorce and stated that our book helped her through since a trying time.  We receive stories like that frequently, what I had envision why the book; inspire and help others through challenging times, is coming true.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

I actually do not have a routine, well; I guess I take that back now that I think about it.  We have a Facebook page (www.facebook.com/realdogsdontwhisper), daily there are updates; I have an editorial calendar that each day has a routine theme.  For instance, every Tuesday is Tasty Tuesday; I post up a healthy recipe for pets.  Plus, weekly I update Mr MaGoo’s blog (www.realdogsdontwhisper.com/blog); again, topics are pet related around exercise, nutrition, special needs, etc.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 Walking the dogs is very relaxing; in fact, some of my best ideas occur when I am walking them.  I also like working out or riding my bicycle or motorcycle.  Just getting outdoors, enjoying the sun and fresh air I find to be the best way to unwind and relax.

Q: What book changed your life?

Since this is my first book, I would have to say so far Real Dogs Don’t Whisper has indeed changed my life. I am doing speaking engagements, meeting fans, and active in pet related fundraising events; all due to this book.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 Great question!  Let’s see, I can easily see the title being: “Live Life To The Fullest: Day In The Life of Kelly Preston”. There is never a dull moment in any given day in my life.

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 I would have to say that I wish people would understand that I am very passionate about helping those with special needs; whether for humans or pets, I will try to do whatever I can.  When one opens your heart and allows love in from all, the rewards are priceless.  Plus, the learning’s are valuable and treasured for a life time.  I do get asked a lot, why would I put myself in a situation that more times will end in sorrow and hurt (saving a pet for instance).  I simply reply, it isn’t about me, it is about providing love, warmth, a hug, a warm bed for one that may never had a chance to experience.  The bottom line, it is about being compassionate unconditionally to others.

Thank you for this interview Kelly.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Real Dogs Don’t Whisper!

2 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews

2 responses to “As the Pages Turn Interviews Kelly Preston author of Real Dogs Don’t Whisper

  1. Enjoyed this interview with Kelly Preston author of Real Dogs Don’t Whisper. Thanks!
    Charlotte M. Liebel, Author
    @Sharliebel

  2. Thank you for this wonderful interview and opportunity. For those that would like to learn more about our journey and life lessons, followers of “As The Pages Turn” receive 50% off with code: JW67FYL5 http://goo.gl/xuW8H

Leave a comment