While There is Still Time – author interview – Terrell Dunnum

While There is Still Time Book Tour

Terrell Dunnum is a school teacher and ordained non-denominational minister. He holds a master’s degree in Christian counseling from American Bible College and Seminary. He is the founder of Total Freedom Ministries, Inc., a non-profit organization that provides mentoring, biblical counseling, and basic life skills to troubled youths and families.  While There Is Still Time, A Book of Prophecy Revealed Through Poetry

 

www.WhileThereisStillTime.com

 

 

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, (Terrell). Can you tell us what your latest book, While There Is Still Time A Book of Prophecy Revealed Through Poetry is all about?

 

A: While There Is Still Time is an interactive poetry book that connects you to the heart of God. There are messages written through poetry to encourage, comfort, and exhort. There are messages that remind us of who God is, what he has promised, and what he is getting ready to do. The prophetic book of poetry is divided into several sections, similar to the letters written by John in the book of Revelations. The first section is entitled, I AM. In this section we are reminded of who God is and what he is getting ready to do. The second section is prophetic words of encouragement written to all those in need. There is a Section written to those who try God, and a section of prophetic poetry just for church. While There Is Still Time allows the reader to respond to passages through reflective pages within the book. There are five questions that must be considered after each poem that allows the reader to look at his or her lifestyle and make necessary changes if needed. This is a built-in activity that makes While There Is Still Time a great tool for spiritual growth.

 

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

 

A: Yes, I am happy to say that this is my first novel. While There Is Still Time was being written a week before I was to have laser surgery on my eyes. I was just a little concerned about the project being finished before that time, but I thank God it came along just fine.

 

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A: First of all, I would like to say that the book is the outcome of an experience I had that lasted one week. It was a Sunday morning and words began to flow that I can truly say was only inspired by the Holy Spirit. Words of comfort, words of encouragements, as well as words of warning began to flow out of my innermost being. This lasted for a couple of days. On the third day nothing was flowing. Some people may refer to it as writers block, I call it not being able to hear my heavenly father’s voice. The Word of God says that his sheep hear his voice. Well I wasn’t hearing anything at this time. I knew something was wrong so I prayed and found out where the blockage was coming from. It was coming from my prideful attitude. I felt that because God was using me I was someone special. Needless to say, I was quickly humbled; God reminded me that without him I am nothing. I humbled myself and the roadblock vanished. Words began to flow as before.

 

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

 

A: I am finding young men and women embracing While There Is Still Time all over the country. One young teenager approached me and said, “This book is an inspiration for me” he continued to talk about the poems and how they stick in his head. He mentions the poem Alpha and Omega, and says, “It is one of the greatest poems I have ever known and it touched my heart”. This young man had confessed to many as not believing in God, but was now reading a book of prophecy revealed through poetry and enjoying every bit of it.

 

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: I must confess, I don’t have a daily routine that I follow. I am called upon as a motivational speaker and special occasions at times. These special events require me to find a quiet place to pray and meditate. I usually unplug or turn of the phones so I won’t be distracted. I also keep paper and pencils beside me to write down thoughts of inspiration. This usually takes place during the morning hours or early afternoon hours.

 

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

A: There a many things people do to relax, some cook or grill, some go fishing or ride bikes, I love to get physical by playing tennis for a couple of hours. I also enjoy driving in the cool of the evening with the windows down.

 

 

Q: What book changed your life?

 

A: Losing my mother to an aneurism at the age of 18 and my father a year later from a heart attack, I found it difficult to go on with life. There were many days in which I didn’t know whether I was coming or going. I contemplated suicide at the age of 19 and even wrote a term paper on it making an A in my College English Class. Through Christian Fellowship and the number one book in the world, The Holy Bible, I found out God’s love is unconditional. I learned to accept his unconditional love and have been growing in grace and mercy ever since.

 

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: We all have a need to feel loved, special, and dear to someone’s heart. It is a need that is engrafted into the human nature at birth. If someone were to write a book on my life, it would be entitled, The Boy Who Found Love.

 

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: Alone does not mean lonely. Being single and faithful to God can be a blessing and not a curse. The bible says, “He that is unmarried careth for the things that belong to the Lord, how he may please the Lord”. (1 Cor. 7:32). There are single men and women that feel they are not complete unless they are married. I wish above all things that fellowship through the Holy Spirit would permeate the hearts and minds of every individual and that they would come to know their full worth in the Lord Jesus Christ.

 

Thank you for this interview Terrell.  I wish you much success on your latest release, While There Is Still Time, A Book of Prophecy Revealed Through Poetry!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

