Interview with Jaime McDougall – Author of ‘So You Want to Write a Guest Post’

Jaime McDougall is a citizen of the world, currently loving life in beautiful country Victoria in Australia. She loves eating sushi, kidnapping her husband and naming her pets in honour of science fiction authors. (So far, a cat named Asimov and a puppy named Brin.)

A love of fiction has always coursed through her veins and she told stories as a child even before she knew how to write them. Settling into one genre was never her style and she has plans for novels in women’s fiction, urban fantasy and more – all with a touch of romance.

She has been published in Chicken Soup for the Soul: High School: The Real Deal and Chicken Soup for the Soul: Campus Chronicles. She has also enjoyed writing a column called ‘The New Australian’ in local newspapers as well as various articles online.

Her fiction work and poetry has been published both online and off in places including The Oddville Press (no longer running) and The Filth zine.

So You Want to Write a Guest Post is her first ebook and is available on Kindle and at Smashwords.

Q: Thank you for this interview, Jaime. Can you tell us what your latest book, So You Want to Write a Guest Post: An Author’s Guide to Promoting with Guest Blogging, is all about?

A:  ‘So You Want a Guest Post’ is a guide for anyone who would like to get started promoting their book online but isn’t quite sure how to get started. However, it’s not limited to authors. The advice found in this guide can be used for anyone wanting to guest post.

Q: How did you come up with the idea?

A:  I had been hosting guest bloggers at my various blogs for a few years and had seen a lot of different guest posts. Most followed my word count and format requests and the ones who didn’t at least came close.

Then I received two guest posts. The first was about thirty words and only three sentences long. Needless to say, nothing I could work with. I could hardly believe it when I soon after received a guest post from another person. This one? Three thousand words long with few paragraphs and not broken up into parts.

It became clear to me that some people had no idea about ideal post length, readability in content and on screen or even reader attention spans. Inspiration struck, and I thought of creating a guide to touch on the technical aspects of writing a guest post.

The initial inspiration bloomed into the guide taking the entire process from finding the bloggers who hosted guest posts to what to do when the guest post goes live.

Q: What kind of research did you do before and during the writing of your book?

A:  Most of the research done for this happened long before I wrote the book. In my work as a professional blogger, I put a lot of time into researching what makes a great post (not that you’d see that from my personal blog – hah!). Creating this guide was mainly putting all my learning into book form.

Q: If a reader can come away from reading your book with one valuable message, what would that be?

A:  I don’t have a message so much as I hope all my readers come away feeling they can create excellent guest posts with ease.

Q: What’s a typical day like for you?

A:  ‘Typical’ day? What’s that? My days are usually some mix of work, walking/playing with the dog, exploring (we just moved in to our place not long ago) locally, cooking and writing. What happens when is entirely up to how the dice fall on the day.

Q: What’s next for you?

A:  Well, I am hoping to self-publish my first novel, a paranormal romance called ‘Echo Falls’. It is a whole new kettle of fish to be working with fiction and with print, and I’m looking forward to more adventures.

Q: Thank you so much for this interview, Jaime.  We wish you much success!

A:  Thank you for having me. It’s been a pleasure.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

