Interview with Daren Krupa author of Such a Nice Boy

About Daren Krupa

 

A native of New York State Krupa grew up in Phoenix and worked as a newspaper reporter and editor, waiter and telemarketer.  At least a dozen novels have presented themselves throughout his life.  Such a Nice Boy is the second he wrote and the first to be published.  Krupa lives in the Sonoran desert.  You can visit him at SuchaNiceBoy.com

 

Visit his tour page at Pump Up Your Book

 

 

Interview

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, Daren. Can you tell us what your latest book, Such a Nice Boy, is all about?

 

A: A man leads a gay life because he’s afraid of his feelings for women.  He meets a woman and her infant son.

 

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how is writing this novel different from writing your first?

 

A: Such a Nice Boy is my second novel.  I wrote it seventeen years after my first.  Having written a first novel is a big difference.  Maturity is another difference; I was 35 when I started my first novel, 55 when I began my second.  But MS Word (versus a typewriter the first time) is the biggest difference.

 

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A:  Writing Such a Nice Boy was more difficult than I ever imagined but it was also fun, and I discovered I was meant to write fiction.  Writer’s block was never an issue.  I’m sure I had it but I didn’t concern myself with it.  I knew the words would come.  I did other stuff until I was ready to write again.

 

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

 

A: I’m a debut author six weeks into publication.  I’m not sure if I have any fans yet.  The media like the press releases.  I don’t think that makes them fans of the book though.

 

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: I like to start 4-6 a.m.  I take breaks to make meals, do errands and keep appointments.  I keep writing into the evening.  Sometimes I have to make myself stop and go to sleep.

 

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A: I relax when I’m writing, but to answer your question I see friends, do projects around the house and travel occasionally.

 

Q: What book changed your life?

 

A: The Catcher in the Rye at age thirteen.  Naked Lunch at age seventeen.  The City and the Pillar and Palimpsest at age fifty five.

 

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: I never thought about it, not even a memoir.  How about He Decided He Wouldn’t Decide.

 

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: I’m a dedicated slacker.  I say I’m an author to sound respectable.

 

Thank you for this interview Daren.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Such a Nice Boy!

1 Comment

Filed under Book News

One response to “Interview with Daren Krupa author of Such a Nice Boy

  1. Daren Krupa

    Thanks for the exposure, Rebecca.
    Daren Krupa

Leave a Reply

