Interview with Krista Pettiford, author of Surrendered Balance; Daily Living for the Christian Woman

Surrendered Balance Virtual Book Tour

Hermina Krista Pettiford is the women’s ministry leader in her local church – New Covenant Tabernacle located San Diego, CA where she lives with her family. She has a B. A. in Biblical Studies from Southern California Seminary. By day she is an IT Manager. Her belief is that the Spirit of God and the Word of God work together to create dynamic power for living the Christian life, thus, she ministers with a solid Biblical message and with leading of the Holy Spirit. Her desire is to see women and families strengthened through God’s Word and their relationship with God as Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. She has written out of her own life experiences, and her gift and love of writing to and for the Lord.

Website – www.surrendredbalance.com

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001630523098

Twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/kristapettiford

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, (Krista). Can you tell us what your latest book, (Surrendered Balance Daily Living for the Modern Christian Woman), is all about?

A: Surrendered Balance was written to connect with modern the Christian woman, to give fresh ideas and insight for balancing the responsibilities of modern-life while maintain an intimate relationship with God.  My goal was to give practical solutions and applicable tools for women to make a life of surrendered balance not just a dream but a reality! My definition of a modern Christian woman is someone who balances all of her responsibilities – family, career, friendship, ministry to others, and caring for herself all while keeping the Lord at the center of her life.

I chose those things that I believe are important to every woman, wife, and mother. A lot of books address only one or a few of these areas. But Christ wants to minister to the whole person and He knows each one of us very personally. Not only are we wives and mothers, but also we are women and His children, with hopes and dreams that He has given us. My intent was to help women address each aspect life as a modern Christian women including caring for themselves and making time for the gifts of God in themselves all while making sure no to neglect God or family.

My prayer and desire for this book and any other book that I will every write is that it will be more than just another good story; I hope it will help people achieve goals and solve problems.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

A: This is my first book; though it is not a novel I do hope to write novels in the future. I could have started my writing career with something more complex but I chose to do something that I start would help others. If I should every write a novel my goal will be to weave the message of the Gospel in living color into the story.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A: Yes. I actually started writing the book back in 2006 and put it down several times. I was trying to write a Christian book that would be accepted by everyone. Not only that but I wasn’t sure how to make that work. Finally after submitting the project to the Lord and truly being willing to let Him have total control of the book by giving up my desire to write what I thought would be acceptable, the book and the title came together, and then I could see it forming into something special. In the end I came away with something that is very true to who I am in Christ, and is also very well suited to bring those that may know about Christ but don’t know Him intimately a more genuine view of Him. I shared Christ in my experiences very openly, yet I think that anyone can relate and find answers and help for balancing all the busyness of modern-life in a way that brings peace and rest to the soul.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

A: I have received very good reactions. Many of my friends and family were surprised I even had the time to write a book because of my busy life. They all said they found the material to be very helpful as well as applicable for daily living. Even women that don’t have children as I do, said that they thought the issues I covered are very necessary and relevant for all women.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: I wish I could have a daily writing routine, maybe one day when the kids are all grown up…  I usually write whenever I find time, be it the middle of the night, a work, while having coffee, or early in the morning, especially on weekends, I write when I can.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A: That’s easy I read. I love to read good inspiration books as well as Christian novels that illuminate Christ’s grace and mercy. Real life stuff, as Jesus said in the gospel, “… to save the lost …those that are well don’t need a physician.”

Q: What book changed your life?

A: The Bible. Jesus said, “The words I speak to you are spirit and they are life,” John 6:63. Reading the Bible and believing it changed my life and continues to add value to it each and every time I read it.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: Surrendered Balance

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: joy is strength.

Thank you for this interview Krista.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Surrendered Balance, Daily Living for the Christian Woman!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

