Dark Patches – author interview – Azuka Thomson

Dark Patches Virtual Book Tour

Azuka Thomson graduated from the University of Benin in Nigeria with a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and later obtained a master’s degree from the University of Lagos. She worked as a consulting engineer for many years in Nigeria before relocating to Germany. She has three daughters and lives with her husband in Leverkusen. Dark Patches, her first novel, is on Facebook

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Azuka-Thomson-Dark-Patches/116641701734714

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, Azuka.  Can you tell us what your latest book, Dark Patches is all about?

A: Dark Patches is about a Nigerian couple, Grant and Ndidi, who have been married for seven years and have one daughter. Grant´s family, wanted more children and forced a second wife, Josephine, into their matrimonial home. However, Josephine did not want to share Grant and so she started an evil campaign.   Eventually greed, jealousy, and lusts for power lead to the use of black magic and catastrophe. 

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how was writing this novel different from writing your first?

A: This is my first novel.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A:  Even though the idea for this story came fully formed with the ending, I still had difficulties and doubts while writing the initial drafts. A few chapters had to be rewritten and even then some readers still wish that the story had been longer and suggest a sequel. During the writing, there were times when I just could not go on and at such times, I simply put my mind on other tasks for a week or two and come back to the story when the urge to write returns. 

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

A: I am very new on the scene and my fan club is very small but   enthusiastic.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: Being a night person all my writing is done between 11p.m. and

6a.m. I then sleep till 1 or 2p.m.  My husband and youngest daughter share the housework with me and I spend the evenings with my family.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A: Mostly I go on Facebook while listening to music and sometimes play some solitaire before going to sleep.

Q: What book changed your life?

A: My life is yet to be changed.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: In Your Corner

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: that family is very important to me.

Thank you for this interview Azuka.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Dark Patches

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Dark Patches – author interview – Azuka Thomson

  1. Gwendolyn Roscoe

    May God Bless you.

  2. Azuka Thomson

    Thank you for this interview!

Leave a Reply

