As the Pages Turn Interviews Thomas White author of Justice Rules

 

About Thomas White

Tom began his career as an actor, which lead to a degree from the United States International University School of Performing arts in San Diego. A Cum Laude graduate, Tom was also named to “Who’s Who In American Colleges and Universities.

He immediately hit the road and spent several seasons touring across the country with various shows, working as an actor, tech director, stage manager, scenic designer, lighting designer, sound designer and finally a director.

    Several years later Tom found himself as an Artistic Director for a theatre in Los Angeles and the winner of several Drama-Logue and Critics awards for directing.

    As Tom’s career grew he ended up doing bigger and bigger projects in the theatre world. He directed and co-produced the world tour of “The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Coming Out Of Their Shells”. The show toured for over two years, was translated into seven different languages and seen by close to a million children.

   Justice Rules is his first novel and was nominated as a finalist in the Pacific Northwest Writers Association 2010 Literary contest.

Justice Rules available at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003K16TCY

www.justice-rules.com

Q: Thank you for this interview, Thomas. Can you tell us what your latest book, Justice Rules is all about?

A: Basically, Justice Rules is a book about victims of violent crimes and their struggle to regain some sort of balance in a life that has been shattered by an unprovoked attack. Experiencing something that horrific is hard enough, but imagine how unbearable it becomes when the perpetrator goes unpunished. How far would you be willing to go to attain justice and how far can you go before justice becomes revenge? Justice Rules deals with these questions in an in depth and up close manner. FBI Profiler Brian Wylie investigates the murder of an ex-con in Eastern Washington. This single murder leads to a vigilante coalition that wreaks its own brand of justice. Wylie’s investigation unravels an intricate and complex plot that involves a victim’s help group, a best friend’s treachery and his teenaged daughter’s well-being.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

A: Yes, this is my first novel. It took several years to complete and the thing I learned from this experience is how damn hard it is. My second novel is coming along easier but only because I learned so much from writing the first. Like anything else in life it gets easier the more you do it. Not that plot and character spill out of me more quickly, I have just learned how to approach a problem in a more direct manner. I have learned to avoid many of the pitfalls that often beset novice writers and that has saved a lot of time.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A: It was very difficult to take an idea, develop it into a concept of revenge and put it on the page. My theatre background served me well in creating characters and plot but while the basic concepts of creating a character on stage are the same as they are in a novel, the execution is vastly different. However, once I was able to turn my head around things ran much smoother. As to writer’s block, I learned long ago, in this genre when you have a block, someone has to die. Suddenly, you have a whole new outlook on where the story needs to go.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

A: I have received phenomenal response to Justice Rules. It has received a five-star rating on Amazon.com, garnered terrific reviews from nearly everyone who has read it. I was recently honored as a finalist in the Pacific Northwest Writers Association’s 2010 Literary Contest having been chosen from over 1200 submissions. All in all I have nothing to complain about. I even had my first autograph request and that tickled me to no end.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: I tend to write in spurts. I will sit down every morning and write something. Often, if I am not inspired with my current project I will pick up an old project and re-work it. I have found that this diverts my attention long enough that when I go back to my main project I have a somewhat new perspective. I force myself to write everyday however for two reasons, first, if you have something written you can change it, improve it or fix it, meaning, you can change something, you can’t change nothing. Secondly, I was at a seminar and the author speaking said very simply, if you write, you have the chance to be published. If you don’t write, you guarantee that you won’t be published.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A: I am an avid, NFL fan. Even in the off season I follow my beloved San Diego Chargers with a dogged determination. I live in the Pacific Northwest and am entering my 30th year as a season ticket holder. It’s a disease and there seems to be no cure, I have gone through the twelve-step program twice and it has done jack for me.

Q: What book changed your life?

A: Odd as it sound, I have to say Stephen King’s The Stand. The epic tale, which I have recently re-read, totally sucked me in. I have followed Mr. King’s career for many years and have read most of his work. His non-fiction book On Writing offered me the best and most concise piece of advice I have yet to receive as a writer. He says that if a writer creates a sentence such as “The sunset was indescribable,” he needs to find another line of work because it is his job to describe the sunset. There is not a day of writing that goes by that I do not hear that phrase run through my head. It makes me stop and truly examine what I am trying to say and then find the best way to put it on paper.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: The Luckiest Guy In The World. No, really, I know that sounds corny but it is the truth. I have an amazing wife, two incredible daughters and a roof over my head. In addition, I have traveled all over the world, doing a job that I love and I am allowed the opportunity of having sitting down and put my crazy ideas on paper for others to read. My bucket list is nearly empty and save my daughter’s weddings the one thing I long to do is to walk through the mall and see one of my books in the window at Borders.

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: …I’m not that serious of a guy. Even in this interview, if you re-read my responses with a smile and a chuckle you will get a much different view of who I am. Life is too short not to have a good time and I try to enjoy everything I do with an intense passion. I talked about bucket lists earlier, well, mine was very full not ten years ago, now, I am putting new things into it each day. Live life, enjoy the people you have placed around you and remember, I am a drama free zone so leave it at the door.

Thank you for this interview Thomas. I wish you much success on your latest release, Justice Rules!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

