Interview with Author Amanda Wolfe, “Everyone has the power to not become a victim. We just have to choose”

Amanda Wolfe 1
Amanda Wolfe was born in Ottawa, Canada in the mid ‘60s. She matured at a very young age out of necessity growing up in unusual circumstances. She has always been a happy-go-lucky, carefree spirit and a very strong-willed person. She has done everything from waitressing to owning her own restaurant and selling things from Mary Kay cosmetics to real estate.

She is married to a wonderful man. They currently reside in the great state of Texas with their horses. When she is not at home writing her latest novel, you will find her and her husband flying in their plane and traveling the world together.

For more information on Amanda and her book visit http://www.beneaththesilverlining.com

Beneath the Silver Lining is her first book.

Q: Thank you for this interview, Amanda. Can you tell us what your latest book, Beneath the Silver Lining Trilogy, is all about?

A:  Beneath The Silver Lining Trilogy is the story of my child hood, and finally realizing the realities of my life. Letting all the memories come flooding out of my black box. It is what I call the place inside myself where I keep all of my ugly,nasty secrets. It has all the elements of a great book. It is intriguing, strangely erotic, funny, there’s murder and even some ghosts..it has it all!

Q: How did you come up with the idea?

A: It happened during one of mine and my husbands time to bare your soul conversations! I said I should write about all this stuff, but who would believe it? He said I think that’s a great idea start writing! That is the short version, the long version is on my website, http://beneaththesilverlining.com

Q: What kind of research did you do before and during the writing of your book?

A: I wrote most of it from memories, the only thing I really had to research were dates! I’m a Pisces, bad at time!

Q: If a reader can come away from reading your book with one valuable message, what would that be?

A: Everyone has the power to not become a victim. We just have to choose.

Q: Can you give us a short excerpt?

A: Dad got a new truck-driving job,so no more job at the jail.Which was good and bad.Good because he would be gone again,but bad because no more free food from the jail. I was sure it would go back to the way it was before, which was not very pleasant. Sometimes we ate, sometimes we didn’t. The added bonus was no waking up at five to that disgusting stench of blood pudding and eggs. The silver lining, there always was one, according to Shirley Mclean. I saw her in an interview once. I always found mine too. It was what was beneath the silver lining that was the problem.

Q: In your own experience, is it hard to get a nonfiction book published today?  How did you do it?

A:I self published my book actually, so I don’t have any idea if it would be difficult. I imagine it would be though, I don’t know what the numbers are for readers of Bio’s verses readers of fiction but imagine they are huge.

Q: What’s a typical day like for you?

A: Typical day, I get up, brush my teeth while my husband makes me a latte and then we go to the barn to feed our horses. Then back to the house I make breakfast for the boys. Our Grandson has been with us since August. Then I clean house, do laundry, get some flying time in weather permitting. Then I spend the next few hours in my office taking care of our business and writing my next book. Then it’s time to make lunch. Then back in my office until around six or so then, feed the horses, sometimes go riding, Home to make dinner then relax for the evening. We enjoy going to the movies so we do that pretty often after dinner. 

Q: What’s next for you?

A: I am currently writing the second book in the trilogy. I also plan on writing an unauthorized biography on my father. Then I have a fiction series that I’m working on also. Sort of Harry Potter meets the wild west, sort of!!!

Q: Thank you so much for this interview,Amanda.  We wish you much success!

A: Thank you very much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

