Black Child to Black Woman – author interview – Cheryl D. Bannerman

click on the book cover to purchase

Cheryl D. Bannerman is CEO of a small, 14 year old, virtual training company based out of Central New Jersey. She holds a Bachelors degree in Business Management and a Masters degree in Project Management. She is also the (divorced) single mother of a beautiful, twelve year old girl.  In her spare time she loves to read murder mysteries, watch movies, try new restaurants and cuisines, shop with her daughter, and in the summer, walk the boardwalk and take in the sun on the beach. Although her works are fiction, she has incorporated many of her life’s experiences into her stories.

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, Cheryl.  Can you tell us what your latest book, Black Child to Black Woman, is all about?

A: Black Child to Black Woman: A Journey of Tremendous Proportions is the title of the book. It is about the story of a girl name Tara Walker who is writing in her journal to her audience, which is the reader. She documents her experiences, her family life, her triumphs, as well as her interpretation of life and the world as she saw it.

Although she came from a loving home with both parents, she struggled to come to grips with siblings addicted to drugs, molestation, attempted rape, broken hearts, and so much more.

This books’ diary experiences will make you laugh, cry, scream, sigh, and gasp aloud, as Tara struggles to keep her head above water and fight through the tribulations of her life, while continuing to be successful in her career, and continuing to survive.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

A:Yes this is my first book.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A: Very. Many of the experiences Tara went through were excerpts of my life, in a way, and some of them were very painful. For example, the loss of my two brothers and dear aunt. There were times when I was in tears and had to stop writing. Whenever I experienced writers block, I just had to step away for however many days and come back. Usually during the ‘break’ I got out of the house and office for some shopping, a movie, or a day at the spa to help clear my head.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

A: Very well. They have found it funny, inspirational, sexy, and a page-turner, some finishing it in two days. Something funny to me is that everyone I went to high school that knew my life and my family was trying to ‘find’ themselves in the book, even after I told them the book was fiction and may only display vague similarities to my life. Many friends would call or text me asking if “a character name” is them or not. I found that funny.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: I don’t really have a routine since this is my first book. I just clear my calendar for a day and say hey, let’s do some writing.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A:I work out at the gym, watch a movie, read a good book, cook using a new recipe, or go to the spa for a foot soak or massage.

Q: What book changed your life?

A: No regular book ever changed my life…only if you include the Word of God.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: From Pain to Pleasure, Learning to Love Life As If Each Day Was Her Last

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: My sense of humor and demeanor. I am a bit sarcastic at times and people think I’m serious. Even though I smile ALL the time. Then when I try to be serious people think I’m mean. Ha!

Thank you for this interview Cheryl.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Black Child to Black Woman!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews, Blog Tours

Leave a Reply

