Interview with Carolyn Wofe, author of The Bedtime of the Sky

 Carolyn Wolfe is a free- lance writer and author of five books. In this, her fifth book, The Bedtime Of The Sky and Other Sleepy Bye Stories, she has returned to her roots. Ms. Wolfe started writing children’s stories in verse in the early 80’s in order to have her nephew and nieces enjoy them. Now, she has compiled them into a short collection to be enjoyed by everyone! This book was specifically written for reading at Bedtime. From Dragons hiding in the sock drawer, to a Mom designing the universe, these stories are full of magical imagery and beautifully colored illustrations that are designed to delight any young heart! Happy reading! For more info please contact her website at www.whenthemoonspeaks.com.

 Q: Thank you for this interview, Carolyn. Can you tell us what your latest book, The Bedtime Of The Sky and Other Sleepy Bye Stories is all about?

 A: Thank you for the warm welcome! This book is an illustrated children’s book of five of my original stories in verse. It is illustrated by a wonderful artist, Leslie Mathis, who makes the stories come alive. As you can probably tell, it is written for the stories to be read at bedtime.

 Q: Is this your first novel? If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

 A: This is actually my fifth book. I have one other children’s story, The Unhappy Little Dragon Lessons Learned and two books of poetry for a general readership, and also one collection of my short stories, also intended for a general audience. My first book was a collection of my poetry dating from my college years until 2001.

It was a daunting task. The Bedtime Of The Sky and Other Sleepy Bye Stories was actually written for my nieces and nephews when they were young and I had re-organized them for my newest niece

who is just turning five this May. I decided as I was putting them together that I would love to create it as children’s book. So

I sent it off to my Illustrator and she drew the perfect images for it!

It was published about six months later!

 Q: How difficult was it writing your book? Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 A: Well, this book was easy. I did re-write some of the verses

and Leslie Mathis Illustrated and formatted it, and we went back and forth a bit with that. She has a happy talent for reading my mind so I was very pleased with how it all turned out! I did not have writer’s block with this book but have experienced it with my other work. I read, I just start to read my favorite author’s books and do a lot of journaling. By reading and journaling I get back the imagination to write.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel? Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

 A: I am very lucky because I have a wide circle of friends with children and even grandchildren so the word has spread about my book. I am also a Substitute Teacher and have been asked to have my book in some of the local Elementary school libraries. I do not have any funny stories quite yet. I am looking forward to that though!

 Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 A: On my days off, I also work at a bookstore, I sit at my desk in the living room and pick up where I left off on any given project. I also edit other people’s work and love to free-lance, so it all depends on how far I have gotten on any particular piece I am working on, how long I will be on the computer. If it is my own work, I could be writing all day and into the evening.

 Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 A: Well, I love to watch Sci Fi on TV, play with my animals, I have a menagerie, and on weekends I go out with my husband and sing Karaoke!

 Q: What book changed your life?

 A: The First one, after that I was simply addicted to the whole process and to enjoying storytelling. I also started to coordinate writing events and workshops. So it made a huge difference, getting that first book out!

 Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 A: Magic Happens!

I truly believe that life is magical and I have been blessed with having one adventure after another. I love the journey.

 Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

A: That I love writing for children and hope they get a positive, upbeat message from all of my stories.

Thank you for this interview Carolyn I wish you much success on your latest release, The Bedtime of The Sky and Other Sleepy Bye Stories!

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews

One response to “Interview with Carolyn Wofe, author of The Bedtime of the Sky

  1. I want to thank the host very much for this wonderful interview and letting me spread the word about my book!
    Sincerely,
    Carolyn Wolfe

Leave a Reply

