Interview with Maria Lucia, author of Liberation: Book One of the Andrusian Chronicles

Click on the cover to purchase

As the Pages Turn

www.asthepagesturn.wordpress.com  

Born in Havana, Cuba, and having immigrated to the United States in 1960, Maria possesses a true and in-depth understanding of the power and unlimited potential of evolving and beginning again. A University of Memphis education graduate and a professional musician and vocalist, Maria moved deeply into the study of music and launched a very successful musical career in 1984, which included experiencing music on the performance level with a world renown jazz assemble and on the educational level as well. Her experience includes programs for gifted children in the public school system and creativity seminars for musicians at the university level. She has been a musical director for church programs, composer of music, and a producer of concerts. In 1997, Maria launched her first school focused on spiritual heart studies and became a full time spiritual growth teacher. She has traveled nationally, performing and delivering seminars for more than twenty years.  She is the author of “The Heart’s Unraveling,” a guidebook for her current school and is working full-time on her writing and the launching of her new book, “Liberation: Book One of The Andrusian Chronicles.”

www.andrusianchronicles.com

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?email_confirmed=1#!/pages/Liberation-Book-One-of-the-Andrusian-Chronicles/103113219738367?ref=ts

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, Maria. Can you tell us what your latest book, Liberation, Book One of the Andrusian Chronicles, is all about?

A: Liberation is a uniquely written fantasy novel. It is about a woman name Amore Madre who is suddenly pulled away from her comfortable life in the mountains to Washington D.C. where she discovers that she has been chosen by an Intergalactic Supernatural intelligence Agency to help fight an evil supernatural syndicate affecting the nation and the planet. She is part of an Andrusian galactic strike force as is her soul mate Gabriel. Together they embark on a dangerous mission filled with dimensional travel, Onaweyans, historical figures and a confrontation with the dark syndicate. Liberation ties together actual devastating current events that have happened in our nation and in our world with real historical characters, and beautiful journeys through worlds of fantasy. The novel challenges the reader and makes them think. “Could this be true?”

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

A: This is my first novel. It took me three years to write and many hours of convincing myself that I was a writer.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A: It was incredibly hard. The desire to write this story was much stronger than my ability to do it. I had to learn the framework in which to deliver it. The expanse of the story was enormous to me and I spent weeks sometimes months feeling out how I was going to tie it all together. I had to learn to tie in dimensional travel with real time events, with spiritual places and characters, with the framework of a novel and more. It was intense and I have many friends to thank for not letting me give up.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

A: What I’ve noticed most is that something happens inside of them when they read it. Its like something gets turned on and their passion gets activated. They see themselves in the story in a very real way. I’ve gotten comments like “when the time comes I’m going to promote the heck out this book” and “ I couldn’t put it down…is this a true story?” Some get turned on by the historical presence and some by the global involvement and others by the national events. Liberation turns the readers on, something I wasn’t ready for, not to the extent it has so far. Everybody feels its going to be a movie…what a trip. Maybe they want it to be.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: When I was completing the novel I wrote everyday even if I just sat there staring at the screen overwhelmed about the next step. I made myself sit everyday. The minutes turned into hours and slowly the book took form. I have deviated a little with the demands of the Liberation’s release but plan on getting back to the daily commitment this summer.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A: I go out into nature and hang out with the animals. I exercise around the lake and take in the beauty around me. I love watching all of the natural activity around me. It takes me away from the intensity of the work.

Q: What book changed your life?

A: Illusions by Richard Bach. It was my bible for a long time.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: What is a soul like her, doing on a planet like this?”

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: That I have to feel free and  unlimited and be able to go anywhere my heart desires without restrictions.

Thank you for this interview Maria.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Liberation, Book One of the Andrusian Chronicles!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Interview with Maria Lucia, author of Liberation: Book One of the Andrusian Chronicles

  1. Hi guys! I just wanted to thank you for having me as one of your guest. It feels great to be included on the page.

    Be well,

    Maria Lucia

  2. Pingback: Maria Lucia’s “Liberation”: Welcome to Andrusia « One Book Bum

Leave a Reply

