Interview with Scarlett Archer, author of 1001 FIRST LINES

Scarlett Rugers (writing as Scarlett Archer) has just released a book 1001 First Lines which is now available at Amazon! You can purchase a paperback, .lit, .epub, .mobi and PDF versions here: http://www.1001firstlines.wordpress.com.

She has been writing for over fifteen years, completed over eleven novels, and her main drive is in speculative fiction or its contrasting opposite romantic comedic novels. She has a passion for studying the art of story telling and is a grand lover of movies. Her focus in work is book cover designs which enables her to put all her energy in to the area she loves most- literature.

You can visit her website at www.scarlettarcher.com.

Twitter: www.twitter.com/scarandthetwit

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scarlett-Rugers-Design/186669264687668

Q: Thank you for this interview, Scarlett. Can you tell us what your latest book, 1001 First Lines, is all about?

My latest book is 1001 First Lines. It’s exactly as it sounds! A collection of first lines- and not just the classics. From the best and the words, categorized in genre for easy access.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

This isn’t my first book, no, but it’s my first non-fiction! This was born from a passion of learning how others write and I wanted to share what I love with the rest of the writing world! It was very different simply collecting and editing the book and the level of focus required was different, I didn’t have to think creatively putting it together. It was a logical venture.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

The difficulty came with momentum. As it involved dealing with the work of others it was up to me to keep my motivation up and finish it. It involved checking and rechecking the first lines, the spelling of names and places, ensuring accents were applied. That can get VERY boring VERY quickly, and involved hours of effort. So I just pushed through it genre by genre, worked through small goals.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

There’s been a lot of enthusiasm about the book; a lot of writers in my writing community have the same passion about first lines as I do. I had great help when I struggled to find the right first lines. And I’ve been contacted by some of the authors who were mentioned in the book which was very exciting!

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

Whenever I can write- whenever I have a moment spare! As a graphic designer I run my own business. Running your own business means working sixteen hour days! Some days end up in a lull which is nice, between clients, so I write as much as I can then. But it’s odd, I never have a set writing time or wordcount per day.

When I write, though, I always get a large amount done. I’m not a twiddle-my-thumb writer, I’m pretty good at sitting down and barging through.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

I’m ashamed to say that never happens, except for reading! If I’m not on the computer I’ll be reading. But so much of my life is design and writing, my two biggest passions. I spend so much time at the computer I had to set up a treadmill desk so that I stopped sitting and destroying my health. Now I walk and work all day.

But when that isn’t happening I enjoy reading. Turning everything off and ignoring the world!

Q: What book changed your life?

I was 8 years old, in the library at my primary school. I pulled a book down off the shelf, a book that I considered too old for me (something with chapters, for goodness sake!). When I turned to the blurb I saw the face of the author looking back at me. I was shocked. It never occurred to me before then that books were written by people. By people like me. These stories were created not out of thin air but were processed, persevered projects. That was the book that changed my life- the book that made me realize that’s who I am. A writer. Before I’d put a pen to page, that’s what I am. A writer!

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

Got Fat? (in the theme of ‘Got Milk?’). It would be a humorous, experimental, story about loving yourself.

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

I love all the people in my life; it’s my chronic anxiety that holds me back!

Thank you for this interview Scarlett. I wish you much success on your latest release, 1001 First Lines!

About admin

Dorothy Thompson is CEO/Founder of Pump Up Your Book, a full service public relations agency specializing in online book promotion agency.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

