As The Pages Turn Chats with Sara Kay Jordan author of Love and Genius

Love and Genius Book Tour

 

Sara Kay Jordan holds a BA in English, and is a lifelong daydreamer, a combination that prepared her in equal measure to pursue her dream to be a writer. The first novel in her Moore Family Series was released in 2011 to warm praise. Series titles include SNATCHING GENIUS and the newly released, LOVE & GENIUS. Her own family includes two grown children and one cranky old dog. Sara lives in Springfield, MO. You can follow her online at sarakayjordan.com, on Twitter @sarakayjordan or connect with her on Facebook (http://on.fb.me/H2murO) and on Pintrest as SaraKayJordan.

 

Q: Thank you for this interview, Sara. Can you tell us what your latest book, LOVE & GENIUS, is all about?

 

A: I’d love to! And love is what it’s all about. This is a love story. But, it’s also more than that. This is the beginning, the story of how two incredible people came together and created a future family that will be entertaining us for a long time.

 

Dr. Kathryn Archer is a brilliant woman and a well-respected scientist. She is also beautiful, strong and painfully isolated from the world around her. A dark past has taught her to guard her heart and it is a lesson she learned too soon and far too well.

 

Major Joe Moore is a soldier at the top of the army’s most elite group. As a single father, Joe is dedicated to his son and his career and he has put the pain and loss of his past behind him.

When Joe is charged with solving a military mystery he seeks out Kathryn’s expertise to help guide him. Their sparks fly immediately and it’s soon more than one puzzle they are trying to solve. Can they find the answers they are charged to seek when all they can feel is the heat building between them? This is the story of their beginning. Their first, heady, romantic, steps toward the incredible family they create together. A love story as remarkable as the family they become.

 

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

 

A: This book is a prequel. It’s book two of the series, but in it we go back in time and see how our characters first met. Since I’ve already written where they are ten years in their future, the challenge in writing this story was to construct an early relationship that fit the established end.

 

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

 

A: Occasional writer’s block is normal, I think. Some days it just isn’t happening. The muse if on vacation, or at least she’s napping. I’ve never had an extended bout and I can usually overcome it by working on a different project. I’ll open something new, work on a different story or a blog post, an interview, whatever. The important thing is to get some kind of creative juice flowing. I find when that happens whatever I was stumbling over in my main project is no longer insurmountable.

 

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

 

A: It’s been unbelievable really—just great. I’ve had messages, email, tweets, all kinds of responses that let me know people were waiting for this story and thrilled to be reading it. My favorite responses are the complaints that it ended. I guess some would be happy if I just kept writing.

 

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

 

A: I don’t do well if I make my routine too strict. That’s another thing about dealing with the muse; it’s easier to go with the flow. I do keep a strict schedule regarding the business side of writing. I set aside the first two hours of every day to touch base on all marketing efforts.

 

Once the less-creative stuff is addressed I see where the day takes me. I might jump right into it and write a new chapter. I might edit the previous day hoping to get into the flow. If I’m not feeling it I set it aside and exercise, or clean, do laundry, whatever. Usually, that kind of torture makes me anxious to write and I when I sit down again I’m ready to go.

 

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

 

A: I read, that’s a life-long passion that won’t ever go away. I have an eclectic taste in music and I try to see as many live performances as I can. I have a lovely group of friends that make me laugh and smile. I spend as much time as I can with my children. They are grown, they don’t need me to mother them, but they still need me.

 

Q: What book changed your life?

 

A: There are two. Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment amazed me the first time I read it. He provides us a mesmerizing, step by step view of a psychological breakdown and the way it draws you in is inspiring. The second is Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings. I’ve always been a fantasy/sci-fi fan, but there was something special about that book. The characters are flawed and funny and incredibly real. It’s the first step on a very long journey and the questions explored along the way about family and love are ones I reexamine often.

 

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

 

A: Ever Changing, Always the Same

 

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

 

A: Whatever you think you know about me is only half the truth.

 

Thank you for this interview Sara.  I wish you much success on your latest release, LOVE & GENIUS!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

