Cross Check My Heart: An Interview with Kerri Nelson

Kerri Nelson has always been passionate about reading books but when she wrote her first poem in the second grade, she discovered her love of writing.  At the age of sixteen, she became a columnist for her local newspaper as the high school correspondent for the weekly “Panther Tales” column.  She won the Outstanding Young Journalist of the Year Award for her efforts.

After an education and career in the legal field, Kerri began to pen romantic suspense novels with a legal or law enforcement theme.  She is a true southern belle and comes complete with her dashing southern gentleman husband and three adorable children.  When she’s not reading or writing, you’ll find her baking homemade goodies for her family, feeding her addiction to blogging online or designing custom made book video advertisements (novel trailers).

Kerri is an active member of Romance Writers of America as well as numerous Chapters including Hearts Through History Romance Writers, Futuristic Fantasy & Paranormal, and Celtic Hearts Romance Writers.

Kerri is a multi-published author of romance in every genre from romantic suspense and paranormal to young adult and inspirational novels.  In 2009, Kerri wrote and sold twelve books to multiple publishers using her Book Factory method.  Her next paranormal romantic suspense Courting Demons will be released from Dorchester Publishing in 2011.

Kerri’s present book is Cross Check My Heart.

Read more about Kerri’s books at her website:  www.kerrinelson.com

Come out and chat with Kerri at her blog:  www.kerribookwriter.blogspot.com

Want to promote your work?  Play, learn and compete with other authors in the biz?  Visit Kerri’s industry blog here:  www.thebookboost.blogspot.com

For the latest news and updates from Kerri, follow her on Twitter here:  http://twitter.com/kerribookwriter

Q: Thank you for this interview, Kerri. Can you tell us what your latest book, Cross Check My Heart, is all about?

Cross Check My Heart is a romantic suspense set just before the US Olympic Hockey team skates off to compete for the gold!  It features veteran hockey player Danny Cipriani, who has a secret that he’s trying to keep hidden for fear that it might keep him off the team.  But when the redheaded beauty Jana comes into his world and steals his heart, his life takes a dangerous turn as Jana’s past comes back to haunt her in a major way!

Q:  Can you tell us a little about your main and supporting characters?

Danny is a tough hockey player with a heart of gold (all the girls love him but he’s totally focused on his career).  Jana is a sports therapist who knows how to mend the broken body but who will mend her broken heart?

Q: Do you tend to base your characters on real people or are they totally from your imagination?

They are totally from my imagination.  Although, I always have a very clear image of them in my head…I like to cast them with Hollywood stars in mind for a future movie deal…of course!

Q: Are you consciously aware of the plot before you begin a novel, or do you discover it as you write?

I’m not big on plotting in advance but I will have a “rough draft” in my mind when I start a book.  Very often, as I write, the story takes on a life and direction of its own.  I just wrote a book that I’d intended to be a love story between two characters and it ended up changing direction mid-book.  It surprised even me—and I was the one writing it.

Q: Your book is set in Chicago.  Can you tell us why you chose this city in particular?

It is actually set in Woodbridge, Illinois, which is the real location of the US Hockey team’s training camp.  So, I based it on the actual location.  Plus, I’m a southern girl and most of my books are set in the sultry south.  This was a nice change of pace for me.  I enjoyed setting the book in colder climate for a change.

Q: Does the setting play a major part in the development of your story?

Not too much but I believe that the cold weather always ads to the suspense factor. Burr cold plus scary chills equals great suspense!

Q: Open the book to page 69.  What is happening?

The reader gets to find out what is happening at the Olympics!

Q: Can you give us one of your best excerpts?

He shifted his stance and tried to shake the naughty images from his mind.

Get a grip Cipriani! This is serious business, and it’s no time to be making her into your fantasy girl.

As he chastised himself, she sat up and eyed him from the floor.

“Are you okay?” she asked raising one eyebrow at him.

This was the first time he’d really been able to look at her face, and she was even more beautiful than he could have imagined.

Q: Thank you so much for this interview, Kerri.  We wish you much success!

Thank you for having me today.  Please check out my website (www.kerrinelson.com) for a new contest exclusively for my book tour participants!

2 thoughts on “Cross Check My Heart: An Interview with Kerri Nelson

  1. Great interview! I hope one day your book is turned into a movie. That would be so awesome. I liked how she made you look at page 69 and asked you what was going on! Put you on the spot huh?

Leave a Reply

