Interview with Soren Paul Petrek: ‘Cold Lonely Courage’

Soren Petrek is a practicing trial attorney with a passion for studying World War Two.  He lived in England and France listening to people’s stories of struggle and sacrifice during the darkest periods of the war.  Soren’s debut novel, Cold Lonely Courage was inspired by the true story of a young Belgian woman who helped countless Jewish children escape from the terrors of the Nazi regime.  Soren lives with his wife, Renee and sons, Max and Riley, in central Minnesota.

You can visit Soren’s blog at http://coldlonelycourage.blogspot.com.

Cold Lonely Courage is Soren’s debut novel.

Q: Thank you for this interview, Soren. Can you tell us what your latest book, Cold Lonely Courage, is all about?

An assassin born of death and violation is the most dangerous of all. Cold Lonely Courage tells her story.

The action begins during the German Blitzkrieg attack on France in the opening days of World War II. The heroine, Madeleine Toche races to the front to find her brother dying after his unit is destroyed as the Germans advance.  Crushed, Madeleine returns his body to her parents.

In the months that follow, Madeleine is raped by a Nazi officer.  Seeking revenge she kills him and flees to England to volunteer for  duty with Britain’s shadowy Special Operations Executive.  Trained as an assassin she clandestinely returns to France with Captain Jack Teach a veteran of the SOE ‘Dirty Tricks Department’.  They find themselves in love but are torn apart by duty and the insurmountable odds of survival.  Madeleine fights on  terrorizing the murderous Nazi elite always only one step  ahead of capture and torture.

Madeleine’s story is raw and driven.  There are no detours.  I engage the base emotions of my readers.  I want them to live the characters the way I did when I wrote them.  This is not an ordinary World War II novel.  Cold Lonely Courage tells the brutal truth about the violence people are capable of when called upon to defend themselves and their families.  The courage of women in war is marginalized and given subordinate consideration in popular fiction.  Many women don’t read novels about war because of it.  Cold Lonely Courage changes that.

Q: Is this your first novel?  If not, how has writing this novel different from writing your first?

The story was more fully developed in my mind and the characters came quite easily.

Q: How difficult was it writing your book?  Did you ever experience writer’s block and, if so, what did you do?

I try to finish an idea when it is fresh in my mind.  When I stop for the day, I know what direction the novel needs to go the next time I sit down to write.  I haven’t experienced writer’s block to any great degree.

Q: How have your fans embraced your latest novel?  Do you have any funny or unusual experiences to share?

I haven’t had any negative reaction to, Cold Lonely Courage.  The majority of people having read my novel, do not know me and therefore have no reason to offer any false praise.

Q: What is your daily writing routine?

I write when I can.  If there’s any routine, it is right away in the morning after I arrive at work.

Q: When you put the pen or mouse down, what do you do to relax?

I watch movies or just hang out with family and friends.

Q: What book changed your life?

The Lord of The Rings trilogy.

Q: If someone were to write a book on your life, what would the title be?

Too Late for Charm School.

Q: Finish this sentence: “The one thing that I wish people would understand about me is…”

I care about people and wish we all tried a little harder to help one another.

Q: Thank you for this interview, Soren.  I wish you much success on your latest release, Cold Lonely Courage!

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews

One response to “Interview with Soren Paul Petrek: ‘Cold Lonely Courage’

  1. This sounds like a fabulous book. Not a time period I always read, but WWII fiction is very interesting. Good luck.

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

