The Sunday Salon

The Sunday Salon.com

Hard to believe summer’s over here on the island.  The tourists are still doing their tourist thing and I am so going to miss watching their antics out on my front deck.  The one thing I won’t miss is having the tourist kidlets riding their bike through my carport, but what I will miss more than anything is the walk down my dock to sit on the bench to get a little reading done.

Speaking of reading, as you know, I’m so into A FULL HOUSE – BUT EMPTY by Angus Munro.  If I can get my tours finished, I can jump back in it.  Angus writes with such natural style…it’s a treat if you ever were to pick up the book and read it yourself.  It’s set in the depression years, which so few people nowadays can remember because that was oh so long ago.  I might even get Angus to write us a guest post about growing up in the Depression years…would you like that?

I got an interesting book in the mail about a week ago.  SADDLE UP YOUR OWN WHITE HORSE – 5 PRINCIPLES EVERY WOMAN NEEDS TO KNOW by Saundra Pelletier (and it came autographed!).  It’s definitely on my TBR list for a review, but I couldn’t help but to sneak inside to see just what this book was all about.  It’s about empowerment.  Who doesn’t need that in their life?  It’s going to be a good one and I’ll be giving a review soon, but I especially like the chapter titled “Women Must Lead in Their Relationships with Men.”  My kind of thinking.  I’ll let you know more about the book in a future post, but I think it’s going to be good.

The one thing I’ve not liked about this island is that you just can’t get any inside work done and if you saw my TBR pile, you’ll see what I mean.  I’ve got to be OUTSIDE constantly!  What a pain when you have so much inside work to do!  The kids are out on the boat with their father and I so would have loved to join them, but ack, work comes first.

So, what did you do over the weekend?  And, please, drive safely!

Leave a comment

Filed under Memes

Leave a Reply

